Technical Conference 2014

The inaugural NNL Technical Conference took place at the University of Manchester on Thursday 1st May. The event was the first in a series of annual conferences organised as part of the strategy to raise NNL’s scientific and technical profile and showcase capability to both an external and internal audience.

The conference featured an introduction from managing Director Paul Howarth and was hosted by Chief Science and Technology Officer Graham Fairhall. An extensive programme of presentations featured from each of the NNL Businesses and Corporate R&D. The keynote address was given by John Perkins, Chief Scientific Advisor at the Department for Business Innovation and Skills (BIS). Another guest external presentation came from Neil Smart, R&D Alliance Manager at Sellafield Ltd. Neil’s presentation examined ‘Future Opportunities for Nuclear Research Supporting Sellafield’.

The NNL BEST Award announcement and presentation also took pride of place at the event. The award celebrates the Best External Scientific or Technical (BEST) paper published externally.  Howard Sims won for his paper ‘Hydrogen Yields from the Surface of Plutonium Oxide’. He presented his paper to conference and received The Lawrence Medal. The medal is named in honour of former Managing Director Mike Lawrence.

Networking opportunities were included in the programme and delegates were given three votes each to nominate a winner in the NNL competition to find the best poster from over 20 entries. The winner was judged to be ‘Spacecraft Power and Propulsion Systems’ presented by Zara Hodgson and Dave Ross.

Here are a list of PDF's from the conference: